Spelthorne Youth Awards 2017

On Wednesday 13 March 2017, 33 very special young people were invited to an awards ceremony at Shepperton Film Studios. The Spelthorne Youth Awards are organised by Spelthorne Borough Council, Leisure Services to highlight the outstanding achievements and contributions from young people to the community of Spelthorne.

The young people were presented with a certificate of achievement by local Councillor and Cabinet member for Community Wellbeing, Councillor Maureen Attewell.

The Mayor of Spelthorne Councillor Alfred Friday then presented ten young people with 'Star award trophies' along with a cash prize of £50.

The ten star award winners were:

Norbert Novenyi for Sports Achievement

Anastasia Martin for Arts Achievement

Morgan Hina for Academic Achievement

Allan Akers for Personal Achievement

Niamh Baker for Community Spirit

Louis Mercer for Unselfishness, Kindness and Bravery

Evie Grimshaw and Megan, Hannah and Charlie King for Triumph over adversity

Guests on the night were treated to two fantastic performances by local youth arts groups. Spelthorne Young Voices sang two songs followed by a short theatre piece by Dramatize, which is a theatre arts group for young people who have disabilities.

Councillor Maureen Attewell said "Tonight I thought I might burst with pride for being a Spelthorne Councillor. All of the young people nominated for awards where absolutely amazing and I was incredibly moved listening to their individual achievements. Congratulations to all of those who attended, including the two performance groups who were also very inspiring."